Nauyavaat MBS – English

Inuinnaqtun – ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑐᑦ

(Seymour Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary)

The Sulukvaut Area Co-Management Committee (Sulukvaut ACMC) oversees three protected areas in the Qikiqtaaluk Region of Nunavut: Nanuit Itillinga National Wildlife Area, Siqiniq (Prince Leopold Island) Migratory Bird Sanctuary, and Nauyavaat (Seymour Island) Migratory Bird Sanctuary.

Nauyavaat (Seymour Island) MBS is located 250km to the northwest of Resolute and supports one of the largest known breeding colony of ivory gulls in Canada. The MBS is located 18km north of Helena Island, separated by Bathurst Island by Sir William Parker Strait.

Created in 2012, the Sulukvaut ACMC is comprised of five members from Resolute Bay, and one Canadian Wildlife Service Northern Region (Iqaluit) employee.  The Sulukvaut ACMC is drafting the Management Plan for the NWA and MBSs and meets 2-3 times per year in Resolute Bay to discuss all issues pertaining to management of, and permitting for access to the Nanuit Itillinga NWA, Siqiniq (Prince Leopold Island) MBS, and Nauyavaat (Seymour Island) MBS. 

About the Members
Annual Reports
Management Plans
Meeting Minutes
Photo Gallery

%d bloggers like this: